Open Scholarship

We work to contribute to the establishment & enhancement of a well functioning Open Scholarship eco-system

2020 JISC Knowledge Exchange Feb JHartfiel_46

Knowledge Exchange aims to take on activities that make a difference. Our ambition is to support the partner organisations to perform better and contribute to the establishment and enhancement of a well-functioning Open Scholarship eco-system.

Open Scholarship themes since 2017

Following the development of the KE OS framework (2017) and the publication ‘Moving from ambition to reality' (early 2018), experts have embarked on three strands of activities:

We are currently working on a third activity around Research(er) Evaluation. Our aims for this work are to identify and support recognition of contributions to Open Scholarship, academic and non-academic, that are essential to make Open Scholarship truly work. To enable the evaluation of such contributions work, our Open Scholarship Research Evaluation task & finish group are working to develop the Openness Profile.

In early 2020, we formed the OS Expert Group who will work to identify and scope new topics for Knowledge Exchange to explore in 2020 and beyond. You can find out more about the group at the bottom of this page.


 Josefine  Nordling

Josefine Nordling


 Juliane  Kant

Juliane Kant



Studies, Workshops and Events

Introducing the Open Scholarship...

As part of FORCE2019, Knowledge Exchange (KE) held a pre-conference workshop to showcase and...

Find out more

Knowledge Exchange Openness Profile

As part of our work on Open Scholarship, we are working to raise awareness of the lack of...

Find out more

Insights into the Economy of...

Knowledge Exchange has compiled a collection of interviews which illustrate how pioneering...

Find out more

Open Scholarship and the Need...

The Knowledge Exchange book 'Open Scholarship and the Need for Collective Action' aims to build...

Find out more

Moving from ambition to reality:...

Knowledge Exchange’s latest report “Moving from ambition to reality” serves as an account...

Find out more

Open Scholarship Framework

Knowledge Exchange experts devised a framework that maps considerations for Open Scholarship...

Find out more

KE Approach to Open Scholarship

Our report on Open Scholarship offers a framework for the work of Knowledge Exchange as well as...

Find out more

Pathways to Open Scholarship

An exploration of the use of digital technology for research and higher education, to celebrate...

Find out more

Presentations, reports and downloads

View all

The Open Scholarship Expert Group

The Open Scholarship Expert Group was formed in early 2020 and consists of representatives from both KE partner organisations and strategic stakeholders from across the KE partner countries.

The expert group are currently working to identify new topics for Knowledge Exchange to explore in 2020 and beyond.

Members of our Open Scholarship Expert Group are:

  • Pascal Aventurier, IRD
  • Ari Asmi, University of Helsinki
  • Katie Drax, University of Bristol
  • Frank Manista, Jisc/KnowledgeExchange (KE Lead)
  • Emanuelle Morlock, CNRS
  • Josefine Nordling, CSC/KnowledgeExchange (KE Lead)
  • Jessica Parland-von Essen, CSC
  • Daniel Röwenstrunk, University Paderborn
  • Sally Rumsey, United Kingdom
  • Heidi Seibold, LMU München
  • Laurents Sesink, Leiden University Library
  • Clifford Tatum, CWTS
  • Lorna Wildgaard, Royal Danish Library

The KE Open Scholarship Advisory Group (2016-2018)

The Open Scholarship Expert Group continues the work of the KE Open Scholarship Advisory Group (KEOSAG), which was formed in 2016. The KEOSAG was formed of a group of experts from within and outside the partner organisations to look at Open Scholarship from an integrated perspective, help KE identify useful work and develop the KE OS framework. The group finished their work by the end of 2018.

Members of KEOSAG were: Martin Fenner (DataCite); Sascha Friesike (Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society); Cameron Neylon (Curtin University); Serge Bauin (CNRS-DIST); Wilma van Wezenbeek (Delft University of Technology Library); Laurents Sesink (Leiden University Libraries); Jessica Parland von Essen (University of Helsinki); Mogens Sandfær (Technical University of Denmark); Magchiel Bijsterbosch (SURF); Michael Svendsen (Copenhagen University Library); David Deroure (Oxford University).


A collaboration between

  • dfg
  • csc-it center for science
  • jisc
  • cnrs
  • surf
  • deic